NEW Arizona Law: Restricting Licenses for Drivers Who Cause Serious Physical Injury or Death.Being a car accident attorney in Mesa, Arizona I am always on the watch for any new bills relating to injury law being reviewed by our legislature. Thus far in 2019, Governor Doug Ducey has signed into law 199 bills, with only a few vetoed. Most new laws will take effect 90 days after the end of the legislative session, which means they will take effect sometime in the fall.
House Bill 2366 amended Arizona Revised Statutes § 28-672. It now requires courts to direct the Arizona Department of Transportation to either suspend or restrict driving privileges for at least 90 to 180 days for drivers who break traffic laws and cause a “serious physical injury.”
If the driver breaks a traffic law and kills someone, the suspension or restriction must be at least 180 days to a year. The law previously allowed courts discretion in suspending licenses in such cases.
If you have questions about the new law or any legal issue, please all me at (480) 833-1113.
Attorney Profile: Kevin Chapman
Main Areas of Law:
Blog: Kevin’s Other Articles
Leave a Reply