DUI Defense Attorney in Arizona


logo1



request-evaluation-button

How Can We Help You?

I have read the disclaimer.

 

Email Disclaimer
By submitting this form you acknowledge that emailing us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established. Your email may be used for firm marketing purposes. If you have any concerns, prior to sending your email, you are advised to contact any member of the law firm of Rowley Chapman & Barney by telephone at (480) 833-1113.

DUI Defense Attorney in Arizona

DUI Breathalyzer Test
As experienced DUI defense attorneys we understand that being charged with DUI can be frightening. There are many serious potential consequences if convicted of a DUI offense. However, being charged with a DUI isn’t the end of the world. A qualified lawyer can help you understand the charges and will explain your options to ensure the best possible outcome in your case. Law enforcement can charge you with anything; whether you are convicted in a court of law is what counts and a significant portion of those charged with drunk driving are never found guilty of the offense.
The Mesa DUI defense attorneys at Rowley Chapman & Barney, Ltd. have extensive experience representing clients facing DUI charges. We can help you understand your charges and offer you our dedicated service to defend you in a court or arrange a plea bargain to reduce the penalties you face. Give us a call at 480-833-1113 or contact us online today to learn how we can help you.

What is DUI?

The legal blood alcohol limit in Arizona, as in the rest of the United States, is 0.08 percent. For individuals driving with a commercial license, such as truckers or bus drivers, the legal limit for driving is 0.04 percent – half of the legal limit for those with standard licenses. You can also be charged with DUI (driving under the influence), for driving with any amount of alcohol in your system, as long as you exhibit signs of impairment.
Arizona also distinguishes between a regular DUI and “driving under extreme intoxication.” According to ARS 28-1382, extreme intoxication means that your blood alcohol level exceeds 0.15 percent. This type of DUI charge carries increased consequences, especially if it is not a first-time offense.

Alcohol DUI and DWI Statistics

While the Arizona Traffic Crash Facts report that driving under the influence of alcohol only accounted for 5.26 percent of all collisions in 2012, drunk driving accounted for 34 percent of all traffic-related fatalities. Nearly 300 deaths and more than 3,700 injuries in Arizona occurred in traffic collisions involving an intoxicated driver in 2012. While drivers involved in DUI-related auto accidents span all ages, nearly 30 percent were between the ages of 25 and 34.
Because of the high accident risk from drunk drivers, driving under the influence is taken very seriously in Arizona. A DUI is a bad enough charge, but if you are accused of causing an accident while drunk, the charges and penalties become much more severe. In any DUI case, contacting a qualified DUI attorney is essential, especially if an accident happened.

Penalties for Alcohol DUI

DUI penalties can be quite harsh, even for first-timers. First-time offenders face a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail, although nine days may be suspended under certain circumstances. The maximum time a first-time offender may spend in jail is six months.
If convicted, first time offenders pay around $1,800 in fines and surcharges, and you will be required to undergo substance abuse counseling. Your driver’s license will be suspended for at least three months, and when your driving privileges are reinstated, an ignition interlock device will be required to prevent you from starting your car if you have been drinking. An extreme DUI can result in up to six months in jail, and several thousand is fines, assessments and jail costs.
A second DUI will result in one to three months in jail, higher fines, and a revocation of your driver’s license for one year. A second extreme DUI requires a minimum three-month jail sentence. Aggravated DUIs could put you in prison for more than two years and you could lose your license for three years after the sentence is served.

Mesa Drunk Driving Defense Lawyers

Being charged with a DUI is an intimidating experience. But a Mesa DUI defense lawyer will help you to understand your options, arrange a plea, defend against the charges and do whatever is necessary to mitigate the consequences you face. The DUI defense attorneys at Rowley Chapman & Barney, Ltd. can help you with your DUI alcohol charge, or with other criminal defense matters. Call today at 480-833-1113.

If you have been arrested call us first! We are available 24/7 at (480)833-2341.

Get answers to your legal questions

Read Disclaimer
I have read the disclaimer.

What Our Clients Say

From the Blog


Juvenile Rehabilitation | Juvenile Defense Attorney
Does Arizona Believe in Juvenile Rehabilitation?   Why is my teenager being charged in adult court? As an[more]
DUI MVD Ignition Interlock | DUI Defense Attorney
I Had a DUI, but why is the MVD Forcing Me to Keep an Ignition Interlock[more]
Infant Left Alone in the Car | Child Abuse Defense Attorney
Don’t Ever Leave Any Infant Alone in the Car. I have been a[more]